Since the beginning, the HRFT has been awarded by various national and international organisations.

The awards received are:

  • The Human Rights Award by the French Government (1991)
  • The International Freedom Award by The International Centre for Human Rights (1991)
  • The Dt. Sevinc Ozguner Human Rights Award by The Istanbul Medical Chamber (1992)
  • The Governing Board of the Sakharov Freedom Fund Annual Award by The Sakharov Freedom Fund Governing Board (1994)
  • The Roger Baldwin Medal of Liberty Award by The Lawyers Committee For Human Rights (1994)
  • The Law Group Partners Award by The International Human Rights Law Group (1995)
  • The Honour Award by The Contemporary Journalists Association (1995)
  • The European Human Rights Prize by The Council of Europe (1998)
  • Frode Jakobsen Award by the Danish Freedom Council to Yavuz Önen (2004)
  • International Medical Peace Award by the International Medical Peace Work Network (2011)
  • The letter of thanks and plaquet by the Palestinian Ministry of Detainee Affairs to Şebnem Korur Fincancı (2014)